Naughty Book Review: BREAKING A LEGEND (Kavanagh Legends #1) by Sarah Robinson [#Giveaway inside]

Enter to Win
Select Loveswept Ebook Bundle
Scroll down for details

 

Kavanagh Legends #1
Sarah Robinson
Released Sept 29th, 2015

 

Perfect for fans of Katy Evans and Monica Murphy, Sarah Robinson’s blistering-hot series debut introduces the Kavanagh brothers—mixed martial arts fighters who work hard, play hard, and love with all their hearts.

 

synopsis (2)
As one of the big names at his family’s gym, Legends, MMA star Rory Kavanagh is used to being in the spotlight—until a gruesome leg injury knocks him out of the cage. Rory is left feeling sidelined in more ways than one, battling the inner demons that come with losing the one shot at his dreams. Then Clare walks into his life and gives him a new dream: winning her heart. There aren’t many new faces in Woodlawn these days, but this tough, beautiful stranger makes Rory want to get his life back into fighting shape.
Clare Ivers doesn’t think she’ll be able to tell anyone what really brought her to the close-knit Bronx neighborhood where she just started bartending. But her life’s on pause and her past is catching up fast, try as she might to move on—with new friends, steady work, and a chiseled alpha male trying to get her attention. Even though Rory’s more than a little intense, she can’t deny that her heart beats faster when he looks at her with those soulful silver eyes. Clare thought she was done with love, but Rory might just be man enough to show her she thought wrong.
 
purchase links

 

grey-curly-line-design-hi
review logo

Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars
POV: Hers & His / 3rd person
Naughty Rating: 3 out of 5

line

Breaking_a_legend teaser3Rory and Clare were such likeable characters!! BREAKING A LEGEND was my very first Sarah Robinson novel and I LOVED it. The story line wasn’t over the top as I’ve experienced in other MMA romances.  She focused  so much on character development, allowing us to get to know the characters as they got to know each other.

Breaking a Legend was a bit of an instalove but not in a way they were falling into each other’s arms the moment they meet.  They were instantly attracted to each other and felt a pull they didn’t want to ignore but they took their time getting to know each other and that’s what I loved and miss in some books.

breaking a legend teaser2

Clare was kind hearted and gentle.  Willing to do for others just because it was the right thing to do.   She had her past. As with most romance novels, the past comes back to bite, but after her time with Rory, she’s become stronger than she ever expected.  Being with him helped to build her confidence and that allowed for her to get her life back on track.

Now Rory wasn’t a bad guy. He was actually pretty amazing. Coming from a big Irish family, he was well put together in most ways. He was a good man that always felt the need to be protector. Raised into the life of boxing/MMA fighting, being a champion was his dream.  Unfortunately not all dreams come true and that’s where his pain stemmed from. Without a fighting career, he had no direction…until he met Clare. She filled that emptiness and he couldn’t help fall for her more and more each day.  breaking a legend teaser

She wasn’t on a rescue mission to save Rory from his internal demons, but she managed to, indirectly, encourage him to save himself. I loved that her just being her, made him want to be a better man.

This story was sweet and kept me hooked from start to finish. The Kavanagh clan was absolutely adorable and the Kavanagh brothers are sexy and funny and very intriguing. I can’t wait to see more of them.  I’m hoping Quinn’s story is next.  I think there are great things to come with him. 🙂

With this being my first Sarah Robinson read, I will say that I was very impressed with her writing style. It was so elegant and flowed to smoothly.  This helped feel involved in the story and feel for the characters and that made me love them even more.

I look forward to more Kavanagh romances.
grey-curly-line-design-hi

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

wavy line

Author Bio
Sarah Robinson is the bestselling author of The Photographer Trilogy and the Sand & Clay rock star series. A native of Washington, D.C., Robinson has both her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in criminal psychology. She is married to a local police officer who is just as much of an animal rescue enthusiast as she is. Together, they own a zoo of rescue and foster animals.  
 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s